Radon bootcamp and fortress

Released information from various stages of VSB's development.
User avatar
kainenable
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 10:32 am
Contact:

Shuttlebay

Post by kainenable » Mon Jun 16, 2003 5:17 am

Image

Eegah
Writer
Writer
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 5:03 pm
Contact:

Post by Eegah » Mon Jun 16, 2003 3:30 pm

Ooooh aaaah...
Watch out for snakes

User avatar
olzen
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:07 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by olzen » Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:21 pm

Somebody help! He's scaring me! :P
WARNING: Will often post redundant anecdotes about the history of the "Vohaul Strikes Back"-project.

User avatar
pcj
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Posts: 2953
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by pcj » Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:04 am

That's the scene where the projectile's launched, right? Are those the projectiles in the upper left hand corner? Should I change the color of the capsule in the cutscene to match those capsules? How about the moon's atmosphere, should that be changed as well?

Very nice picture, by the way.

User avatar
MartyMcFly
BG Artist / Coffee Retriever
BG Artist / Coffee Retriever
Posts: 811
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 7:38 pm

Post by MartyMcFly » Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:11 am

no those things in the upper left hand corner could be just fuel tanks i guess. as for the captules, they will be fired from the cannon that is seen in the upper right hand corner, for a better view of the cannon its somewhere posted here... but with the closeup cannon pic, im gonna change the captules to suit what they are meant to look like :D
and as for the moon, i had no idea that there was meant to be a moon. for the stars i used a program called "Universe Creator" which does just that, that planet is part of the starfield i made to be used in the background. i can change it if necessary.

User avatar
olzen
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:07 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by olzen » Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:22 am

Well, if pcj agrees, I think it'd be a good idea to have 2D space backgrounds created in "Universe Creator" for the space cutscenes. The moon, btw, is merely the same as on the Radon backgrounds. It won't require much for you to insert it.
WARNING: Will often post redundant anecdotes about the history of the "Vohaul Strikes Back"-project.

User avatar
pcj
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Posts: 2953
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by pcj » Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:26 am

Of course. That would be fine, except for one fact: that for a 2D environment to be successfully integrated into a 3D environment, you either need a different view for every camera angle, or use the same one for every shot; but in this case, it wouldn't look realistic.

User avatar
MartyMcFly
BG Artist / Coffee Retriever
BG Artist / Coffee Retriever
Posts: 811
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 7:38 pm

Post by MartyMcFly » Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:47 am

olsen do u want me to include a purple glow around the mood which we saw on zanon? or u think i should just let it remain white without glow?

User avatar
olzen
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:07 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by olzen » Wed Jun 18, 2003 11:04 am

I'm not sure... Whatever suits you. You oughta make it fit into pcj's 3D version of the moon, though.
WARNING: Will often post redundant anecdotes about the history of the "Vohaul Strikes Back"-project.

User avatar
pcj
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Posts: 2953
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by pcj » Wed Jun 18, 2003 3:08 pm

Just to clear things up...

First of all...Zanon doesn't exist anymore (at least to my knowledge); it's Radon and its moon, so that'll help clear up any miscommunication.

Also, in the 3D video I made, there's no glow around the moon, only around Radon, but there is an atmosphere around both.

There's also an X on the moon; which may or may not be seen in your rendering of the scene. You can use my 3D moon as a reference, but I'm not sure if it's absolutely right or anywhere close, as it hasn't been really addressed since I last changed it to suit their stated expectations.

User avatar
MartyMcFly
BG Artist / Coffee Retriever
BG Artist / Coffee Retriever
Posts: 811
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 7:38 pm

Post by MartyMcFly » Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:54 pm

ok, so where can i see these 3D moon pics?

User avatar
kainenable
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 10:32 am
Contact:

Post by kainenable » Thu Jun 19, 2003 2:19 am

Its pretty much a standard looking moon, only with a large x formed on it and a bubble looking base in the middle.

Maybe pjc could post an image of what he has modeled so far. It needs work, raised x and crater holes as well as a higher resolution texture, but it will give you kind of an idea.

User avatar
pcj
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Posts: 2953
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by pcj » Thu Jun 19, 2003 5:47 am

Here's the moon, as I've rendered it; it still needs to be changed, but as kain said, it should give you an idea.

Image

User avatar
pcj
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Site Admin, Webmaster, Programmer
Posts: 2953
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by pcj » Mon Jun 23, 2003 10:31 am

Don't know if you realized this, but in both the main picture with the cannon, and the shot from the control room, the field of stars appears to extend to beneath the shuttlebay. Isn't the shuttlebay physically located on Radon? If so, you'll need to add a horizon, unless either Radon should be rendered flat, instead of a globe, or the building is on its side, facing space. In which case gravity become a problem. :?

Also, in every other shot I've seen on Radon, there aren't any visible stars, except perhaps the main star. Is it suddenly night on Radon, or did it suddenly lose its atmosphere? (a major problem for Radon's inhabitants) Otherwise, I don't know how you're going to be able to see the starfield from the shuttlebay, unless it's outside the atmosphere, or at least above the troposphere, stratosphere, and mesosphere (if Radon has all of those, which it appears to).

User avatar
olzen
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Co-Lead; Producer, Composer, Director, Writer
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 11:07 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by olzen » Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:56 am

Hmmm... He's right. We should have some clouds there. Placing the shuttlebay at a tower seems impossible, as it would be very, very, very, VERY high.
WARNING: Will often post redundant anecdotes about the history of the "Vohaul Strikes Back"-project.

Post Reply